Important Deadlines

October 3: Last day to apply for Fall 2014 graduation (online form)

October 3: Last day to drop a Fall 2014 course with a grade of W

October 24: Last day to remove grades of "I" in all courses required for degree for Fall 2014 graduation

October 24: Deadline for defended dissertations (with committee changes incorporated) to be submitted to Graduate School for Fall 2014 graduation. See Ch.10-11 in thesis manual for details

November 3: Last day to drop a Fall 2014 course with consent of instructor (with a grade of either W or WF)

December 5: Last day for doctoral degree applicants graduating in Fall 2014 to return the final corrected copy of previously (before October 24 deadline) filed dissertation based on changes required by the graduate reader after the initial submission of the defended document.

Program Admission deadline: November 1, 2014 is the deadline for applying to the IIS PhD program for Fall 2015. Applicants will be informed of admission decisions in January 2015.

January 19: Last day to sign up for Spring 2015 qualifying examination (sign-up form)

May 18: IIS PhD Student Annual Reviews -- a required condition for Fall 2015 registration -- due (Annual Review Form).

Interdisciplinary Information Science PhD Program

The University of North Texas Interdisciplinary Information Science (IIS) PhD Program responds to the varied and changing needs of an information age; to the increasing recognition of the central role of information and information technologies in individual, social, economic and cultural affairs. Graduates of the program are prepared to contribute to the advancement and evolution of the information society in a variety of roles and settings as administrators, researchers and educators. IIS PhD Program offers:

  • excellent research faculty across UNT serving as instructors and advisors;
  • a truly interdisciplinary program structure with nine academic units;
  • a flexible degree plan tailored to individual interests (only 12 hours of required courses out of 48 total hours of coursework);
  • a variety of course delivery formats, including face-to-face, online, and blended;
  • a residential experience with a high level of faculty-student interaction;
  • a culturally and ethnically diverse community of faculty and students;
  • competitive scholarship, grant, fellowship, and assistantship opportunities;
  • research opportunities through the Texas Center for Digital Knowledge;
  • extensive research library resources on campus and online.

The Chair of the UNT College of Information Department of Library and Information Sciences Dr. Suliman Hawamdeh serves as IIS PhD Program Director. Dr. Oksana Zavalina serves as an Associate Director of IIS PhD Program. Ms. Brennan Blair serves as IIS PhD Program Administrative Coordinator. IIS PhD Program Office can be reached at and/or 1-940-891-6795.


Fall 2014 Qualifying Examination: The Fall 2014 written qualifying examination will be held October 10 through October 17 of 2014. The students will be notified of wrtitten part of the exam by November 7th.

Spring 2015 registration: Registration for Spring 2015 opens on October 13, 2014. To register, please (1) review the UNT Graduate Catalog, (2) check whether or not a course is offered in particular semester inUNT Office of the Registrar Schedule of Classes, (3) schedule advising session with your advisor (Committee chair or IIS PhD Program Associate Director), and (4) complete the advising memo form for IIS PhD students. The advising memo form should be submitted after the meeting with advisor and no later than 3 business days before regular registration deadline.

Spring 2015 Qualifying Examination: The Spring 2015 written qualifying examination will be held March 6 through March 13 of 2015. After you have completed your coursework and designated your committee using committee designation form, sign up for qualifying examination using this sign-up form. The deadline to sign up for Spring 2015 qualifying examination is the 1st day of the Spring 2015 semester -- January 19, 2015.